(0120) 25146-11/12, 9953007629
Welcome Visitor!

News in Short


India Biodiversity Award 2018

Singchung Bugun Village Community Reserve Management Committee (SBVCR) of Arunachal Pradesh won the India Biodiversity Award, 2018 for its effort to conserve the critically endangered bird - Bugun liocichla- an endangered species according to IUCN.

Bugun Liocichla (Liocichla bugunorum) was discovered in 2006 in West Kameng district of Arunachal Pradesh. The bird has been named in honour of the efforts of the Bugun community of Singchung village in West Kameng district in conserving the wildlife and forest of the area.

India Biodiversity award is conferred annually by the National Biodiversity Authority.


Nari Shakti Puraskar 2017

The all women six-member team of INSV Tarini comprising of Lt Commander Vartika Joshi, Lt Commander Pratibha Jamwal, Lt Commander Swathi Patarpalli, Lt Aishwarya Bodapatti, Lt SH Vijaya Devi and Lt Payal Gupta were given Nari Shakti Puraskar 2017.The team, led by Lieutenant Commander Vartika Joshi circumnavigated and managed the whole operation in this first ever global journey recently.

The crew of the Indian Navy Sailing Vessel 'Tarini' is a part of the Indian Navy’s unique project 'Navika Sagar Parikrama', an all-women team circumnavigating the globe, promoting ocean sailing activities in the Navy and depicting Government of India's commitment towards women empowerment.


Man Booker International Prize 2018

Olga Tokarczuk of Poland has won the Man Booker International Prize 2018, for her book ‘Flights’. It was translated to English by Jennifer Croft.


Golden Shoe

Lionel Messi has won the Golden Shoe this year too. The Award is presented based on a points system. This is Messi’s fifth Golden Shoe.


Palme D’Or (Golden Palm)

The award for best movie at the Cannes International Film Festival was awarded to ‘Shoplifters’ movie.


Reginald F. Lewis Film Icon Award

Actress Sri Devi was posthumously awarded the Reginald F. Lewis Film Icon Award at the Cannes Film Festival. The award is celebrates the contribution of women in film industry across the world.


ESPN Multi-Sports Awards

P.V. Sindhu and K. Srikanth were adjudged Sportspersons-of-the-year (female and male) and P. Gopichand the best coach. The awards were given by ESPN Multi-Sports Awards. This is inaugural awards by ESPN. Other awards were: Indian Women’s Hockey Team – Team of the year. Moment-of-the-year awarded to Jeakson Singh for scoring a goal in the U-17 World Cup against Columbia.


Sustainable Development Accelerator Awards

Sustainable Development Accelerator Awards were presented to Bhoomi Trivedi, Mannu Sandhu, Shital Shah, Prasanna Pathmanathan, Danu Innasithamby, Nandisha Kalutota, Ornella Mariam Jayasiri Gunesekere, Sandkelum Kalutota, Ashan Perera and Kalpanee Gunawardana. The awards were presented by the World Peace and Diplomacy Organisation in association with Unified Brainz of India and Business Line.


Pulitzer Prize For Public Service

Pulitzer Prize for Public Service is awarded to New York Times and New Yorker


State Quality Assurance Team Award

Presented by the Central government annually, the prestigious award was won by National Health Mission-Rajasthan.


Our Partners